After the Kyna.

By Triciamb

Knitting for the baby

My great niece is due to be born any day now, in Canada to my nephew with Scottish, Irish, Welsh and English grandparents and his Chinese wife. So there have been great preparations. I knitted the shawl on the left. The wool was the “luxurious blend of cashmere, camel and baby alpaca” called the Road to China silken jewels by The Fibre Company and a joy to work with. The bootees were the work of a Chinese friend who I encouraged to knit and she rapidly became very skilled. 
The beautiful pram cover and pillow case was a gift from my good friend and neighbour who cannot knit herself, but it was made by Aunty Mags, whose skills are amazing. The ribbon is the Pride of Scotland tartan, also a nod to her heritage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.