A beautifully clear cold day. 4.20pm.

It has been a frosty (early on) day with icy clear blue skies. All the 3 bird baths had a layer of ice.
Busy day.
Grandchildren were here for the morning and for lunch, before their mum collected them once more.
Our usual tree, hedges, and shrub tidy and prune, was due on Friday but I had a call to say they could do it this afternoon. In the event they arrived earlier than expected just before lunch. They always do a first class job and tidy up well.
Our youngest granddaughter watched them for awhile, and our 6 year old grandson offered them all one of his newly baked biscuits to have with the drinks I made.
As they were clearing up the window cleaners arrived! So lots of ladders all over the place. Our window cleaners use the long pole method, but need a small ladder to get on to our extension roof to clean the back-bedroom and the loft bedroom windows.
Off everyone went about 1.00pm.
We had our lunch, when everyone had left.
The family were meeting another HomeSchool one in the park
A new boiler was being fitted at their house and by mid afternoon they popped back here from the park to get warm! Until Alan sent a message to say the new boiler was up and running.
We sent for hot chocolates and coffees which were duly delivered!
Stephen was out seeing a client at the St. Giles hospice centre where he does Bereavement counselling.
I had counselling for quite awhile after our Matt was killed in 2006.
It helped me enormously to have a safe place where I could say exactly how I felt.
We had his young widow, Heidi, 28 yrs old, living here with us for 5 months, (not having any parents) as well as Alan still at home, in his 3rd year at University.
I found I was trying to look after everyone else as it was hard to watch them suffer.
So I appreciated all the my counsellor did for me.
Everyone is different.
But I couldn’t do what Stephen does, having had several years of different training in Pastoral care.
I would feel it too much.
Once the family all vacated the premises again, I realised I hadn’t taken a photo.
I went off up the garden where it is now noticeable that the evenings are much lighter later.
(On days when we don’t have fog and gloominess!)
It stirs the spirits to feel that we are going towards the light once more.
Our evening meal will soon be ready so I’ll finish here, and pop back a bit later to look at your blips!
Playing catch-up again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.