skye line

By cameraskye

The burning issue

This may not be a particuarly picturesque scene but it is a very topical one, at least here in Skye and the rest of the Highlands.

From October through to 15th April is traditionally muir burning time, when crofters use fires to burn off overgrown heather and grasses in order to promote new and better grass growth for sheep etc to graze on.

There are strict guidelines for muir burning but unfortunately they are not always adherred to and I am sure many of you will have seen the pictures and reports in the papers about all the wild fires that have resulted.

Although when I originally passed this fire this afternoon it appeared there was no one controlling it, when I went back later on I could see people up on the hill keep and eye on what was going on.

Hopefully no fire engines will be needed at this muir burn!

UPDATE: I have changed my blip to the one you see now. As I was heading home from work I saw a thick plume of smoke north of west of Portree and hubby and I headed off to investigate. There was a massive fire burning, three fire engines on scene and the fire was close to both trees and houses. You would have thought after all the press reporting of the last week that people would have taken notice and would be taking care, but it appears not. As we headed back to Portree we met yet another fire engine heading out to help, lets hope the fire is out soon and no one is injured. Apologies to anyone who commented on my original blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.