Bobs Photos of Freo

By sommervl

Schools Out

..not what I'd call a great shot but I have blipped it as it is somewhat remarkable. The dark streaks are not waves or wind but schools of small fish moving south off shore from Cottesloe Beach to Port Beach over a distance of about 7kms. I could see literally more than a hundred schools like extending westwards too about as far as I could see offshore. Flashes of white and spray indicate small fish breaking the surface in their hundreds I expect and being taken by sea birds.

One large school I photographed was accompanied by a number of Dolphins. There have been an extraordinary number of fish through this area for more than a month with at least one reported instance of about 100 sharks feeding off similar large schools. Nature at it's best. Look for the lone kayaker too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.