The Way I See Things

By JDO

Incoming

I spent three hours at Slimbridge in the middle of the day, and though I didn't manage to be in the right place at the right time to see either of the most famous current residents (a spoonbill and a glossy ibis), I increased my bird tally for the year from twenty four species to fifty and bumped into a couple of people I know, so I still count it as time well spent. For once the light was good enough for a fast shutter speed, and I managed a few reasonable flight shots, including this pair of Bewick's swans on their way back to their roost on the Rushy, after spending the day grazing in the nearby fields.

This evening Chipping Campden Festival Chorus began work on the new season's programme: Gounod's Messe solennelle de Sainte Cécile, César Franck's Quae est ista, and Mendelssohn's Lauda Sion. I've never sung any of these pieces before, so it will be interesting to learn them.

Tonight I'm remembering JH.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.