wrperry

By wrperry

One More Chance

I'm going to have to say goodbye to the Snowy Owls soon, as we head home to Maryland, unless the upcoming snow is substantial, postponing our departure. I can't say I would mind that.  I joined a couple of other Cape photographers this morning in the dunes, with my 200-600mm lens and a teleconverter.  So this was at 840mm and cropped slightly.  The two owls that are spending at least part of the winter at this location seem comfortable with the paparazzi, but there is a lot of talk about keeping a respectable distance.  Another problem is human footsteps on the dunes, and damage to the grasses.  Fortunately, wildlife photographers are considerate, for the most part.

It was difficult to capture the owl with its eyes open.  It spent a majority of the time, soaking up the sun.  After an hour I had to head out to meet up with my sister for a walk, so this was about as good as I could get.

(After the fact, I've decided to add a photo as an extra.  Along with the Snowy Owls, I was on the look out today for Great Horned Owls.  I had gotten a photo of one awhile back, and through the grapevine heard that the male is still there, and has found a lady friend.  My sister and I circled around with our eyes aimed upward with no luck, until .... we heard the caws of a flock of perturbed crows.  In my quest to find owls, I've read that agitated birds can indicate the presence of an enemy.  Sure enough, they led us right to the owl.  By the time I was situated to get a clear view, the owl flew to escape.  This happened several times.  I'm posting the extra because I love the great horned eyes.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.