SMaxwell

By SMax

Orange tree in Sorrento

Up early to pack, check out of our hotel and head for the airport in Naples. However before leaving I decided to nip across the road and into the lemon and orange orchard to grab a few shots so I could manage one last blip from Sorrento.

This part of Italy is famous for its production of lemons and the drink Limoncello. In fact there is hardly an open bit of ground that does not contain lemon trees. The country is covered in a combination of lemon, orange and olive trees and at this time of year the orange and lemon trees are full of fruit. The freshly picked, sun ripened oranges taste better than any orange I have ever tasted.

Although it is the lemons that the area is famous for I chose this picture of an orange tree to blip as I liked it best. The orchard was somewhere we walked through almost every day as the sight of the fruit trees and the carpet of yellow flowers in the bright sunshine was particularly uplifting.

This is my final blip from Sorrento as our flight landed this afternoon and we will get home this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.