Frosted seed heads

Just a light frost this morning but ground had gone soft by the time I got to the allotment site for a walk.  Took these yesterday and liked the muted colours and the little cap of frost on each one.  Today I've put them into a triptych in honour of Sue who's allotment I stole the images from.  By coincidence I found out today that she had lost her fight with cancer.  Diagnosed,  completely out of the blue, with stage 4 lung cancer 8 years ago she took part in every drug trial that was on offer thereby hopefully adding to knowledge that will benefit others and at the same time she maintained her own health and held the prognosis at bay.  After every Winter when we see less of allotment holders during the dormant season we always wondered if Sue would be back in each Spring and for 8 years she was. Hope somebody picks up her allotment and keeps it going in the well tended way that she kept it.  I was always offered to help myself to the damsons that carpeted the grass under the little tree that produced an abundant crop every year.  I have a couple of jars of "Sue's" jam still to use from this Summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.