Missing piece

I contacted the doctors through  the my doctor on their website so much easier than telephoning. I had a phone call at 9am. The man prescribed more antibiotics after I told him the story. He rang back 20 mins later and asked if I could go and see him so he could look in my ear. I didn't catch his name and when I arrived at the surgery I asked who I was seeing and was told Doug! No idea who Doug is. He had a good look in my ear but needed a better look. he went to ask the doctor for his expensive otoscope but came back with the doctor. They both agreed the ear canal was not the culprit of my blocked ear and prescribed the antibiotics. Whilst waiting for the prescription I asked Doug what his role was. he told me its a new role called physician's assistant. They have been piloted in London. He did a 2 year post grad course at Uni to qualify. He cant write prescriptions and is overseen by the doctor. Seems a good idea a bit like a higher level teaching assistant and means there are more people to see you at the doctors. Shame he cant write prescriptions though, hope that changes soon like for nurses. 
Came home and finished the jigsaw I started yesterday. One piece missing! I had let my sister do it before me. I have searched all round the table and can't find it.
A lazy afternoon, hope I start to feel better soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.