Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

covid positive

So, yesterday afternoon I got the news that I have covid!  My friend is negative...what a dilemma as we are travelling together and are supposed to leave today!!

Early morning I went to the hospital!  I was advised I had 2 options - one is to wait for 14 days and be retested for free (it costs $100);  the other is to get the positive test result and drive home to Zambia and quarantine at home.  I consulted my friend and we decided to leave immediately to get across the border.  As there is an agreement between Malawi and Zambia that residents/citizens who are driving their private vehicles can get through on a positive test, we had no problems.  My friend decided to join me even though she is negative.

I was going to stop half way home to rest overnight because I have been having a sore throat and ears and a headache for the past couple of days, and was tired too from all the driving I had been doing.  However, my friend wanted to get home so I left Lilongwe at 11am and reached home at 11pm....utterly exhausted!  It was a challenging drive especially after dark as it was raining, there were many potholes and large trucks on the way!  So thankful to get home safely!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.