Convenience v Connectedness*

At long last, I'm joining in with Flower Friday, with my on-their-way-out hyacinths.

Another bit of a rest day inbetween traveling. Did a wash, gorgeous sunshine. Mike swapped the too small table in the other room for a larger one we had up in the top building; now I want some comfy chairs for guests - we've been given loads of chairs, but most of them are a bit dodgy.

Got introduced to Gather, the programme (or whatever you call these things) where our organisation will hold their Biennial Conference - had to create my avatar and then you move around the venue and meet folk, chat, attend seminars, hang out at the bar - all very creative, though you're actually still sitting on your bum staring at a screen. Just hope I'm able to do what's being asked of me... 

Juxtaposed to that, finished The Way Home, Tales from a life without technology, by Mark Boyle, and then Mike and I watched this interview (it's about 45 mins; there are shorter ones, 1.21 mins). Question is, how do we respond? Not an easy one, but for starters, I know I spend too much time on my phone and laptop... Highly recommend the book, so positive and fun, though dealing with crucial issues.

Gratefuls:
- a chat with Ju in her break; she and Tom have booked to come for a few days at the end of the month!!
- still surviving on leftovers from Christmas/NY, and the clear-out of Netty's fridge
- contact with the wagon family at last; that's where we're headed tomorrow (with their Christmas presents!)

* connected with Creation and people, not  with the internet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.