down by the sea

The Mediterranean Sea, that is. wink wink.

The girls loved it. They collected sea shells with my dad; they ran barefoot towards and away from the waves; they (well, Caroline) fell down in the sand inexplicably; they found the most amazing sandcastle in the world; they got dirty and played and laughed and ran.

It was a lovely day. We (obviously) trekked down to the beach, away from the crowds of Las Fallas. We ate paella at La Pepica where Hemingway used to frequent. Oh man oh man, I love paella. I guess I should be more specific and say that I love Arroz Negro (which I've been told is technically NOT a paella.. but I'm going to say it's my favorite paella anyway and you can't stop me).

Last day in town. In country. In continent.

Later this afternoon, I would eat a bunch of mussels that my dad made at our apartment and a few hours after that I would be stricken with food poisoning perhaps? Still not gonna stop me from eating mussels. But it sure did make the trip home to Texas a lot less enjoyable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.