(007) Heritage

This is a view from the breakwater at Burntisland, looking out to the River Forth and Inchkeith island. I played around this area as a child and for over fifty years now I have walked, cycled, taken photographs, passed the time of day, appreciated the view, enjoyed the peace and quiet, watched railway and harbour activity and generally appreciated having such a place to go. Many other people both local and from afar have enjoyed the same things and for many more years than me. All of this will be lost to the community when Forth Ports puts up a fence to close off public access to the dock/harbour and the breakwater. Work on the fence is scheduled to start next Monday. A well-organised community group has been formed to oppose the fence but so far Fife Council have been deaf to the wishes of the community. The next step involves launching a bid for a community buy out of some of the land. I find it hard to accept that today's walk could possibly be the last time I can appreciate the views I have known for so long. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.