River of Flowers

By doffy

Field Beans

It's been a slightly warmer day today, which meant I could be out in the garden - well, mostly in the greenhouse! All the seeds I sowed about a month ago are now needing attention.

The Field Beans are another experiment this year, they are usually grown as green manure and dug into the soil before flowering, these will be allowed to flower and grow into beans. I have read that they will continue flowering and provide pods of beans for the whole season, this sounds good.

Last year my experiment was Scarlet Flowered Broad Bean which proved very successful, I have a few plants of these to plant out in the veg patch later this month.

I potted on Cavollo Nero, Welsh Onions, Rocket, Cherokee Trail of Tears Beans, and a few other bits and bobs.

I was surprised at how dry all the garden pots were and decided to give them all a good watering.

It's Friday so all I can do is wish everyone a lovely weekend! :-) x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.