Windmill 'De Heesterboom', Leiden

'Heesterboom' = 'hey-ster-bome' = literally 'shrub tree' ('bome' means 'tree')
Leiden is where Rembrandt was born.  As stated in a previous post, his father was a miller or worked at a mill, but this was certainly not the one as this was built in 1804, centuries after his birth/death.
This was, and still is, a sawmill.  In fact, there's a wood factory right next to it, and the factory and the mill belong to one and the same owner.  However, the owner is not the miller.  De Heesterboom is considered to be the most beautiful sawmill in the entire country.  Its name most likely came from its very first owner, Johannes van Hees.

Of course, this wasn't the only shot I took.  I had several angles, and then I walked to the bridge and took more on the other side, very close to the mill, but I couldn't enter the premises of the wood factory for a frontal shot, and had I parked right beneath the mill (I'd already seen the parking area and even turned my car around inside) it wouldn't have given me the desired angles as the mill was facing the sun and away from the road.  That's always a risk if you're going for frontal shots.  Imagine trying to shoot a model on the catwalk and only managing it when she turns her back.

A beautiful day for the hunt after two weeks of 'druilerig' weather.  Yet, it took me quite a while to wind myself up to actually get dressed and into the car and going.  While it has been, indeed, hibernation weather, I had to fight the depressing effects.  Thankfully, the Donkey is a dear and I've learned how to drive it efficiently.

Back home, housekeeping and gaming, and no mood to do the exam, so maybe tomorrow?  Not expecting any response to my applications yet, but, well, that is nothing new.  Besides, classes will not start till Monday.

THANK YOU for all the stars you've been sprinkling these past days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.