Sprout lover

By robharris35

Voucher wars

As it panned out, most of today was spent trying to get back to Maputo. The holidays are unfortunately over and I am returning to the capital to complete my remaining two-and-a-bit weeks of work before I change jobs.

I sampled a coffee and some baked items in a little café and had a final stroll of Quelimane. If the city had a theme it would be ‘bikes passing decrepit frontages’. I have captured a few such photos, this being one of the most colourful.

At Quelimane’s very laidback airport, we were told by the airline representative that there was at least a 3-hour delay for the flight to Maputo. Passengers were permitted to get some complimentary food at the café in the main concourse (concourse is far too grand a word to be using here).

Being no stranger to eking out delays and food vouchers I bided my time to avoid the line. By the time I went to ask for food, the police and immigration officers manning the airport had used my ticket name to claim the voucher for themselves. Cheeky sods. Luckily the restaurant staff were on my side and allowed me to order something anyway.

This all serves me right for not calculating my holiday itinerary carefully enough to ensure I could get back to Maputo overland, but I’m still too far north. It’s been good to have a slow pace of travel, spending a least a couple of nights in each place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.