Blue skies and blue sails

On my dog walk I observed various races taking place at the local sailing club, Tamesis. Very little wind so slow progress by all!
They have races most Sunday mornings and today it looked as if they had a good turnout because of the sunny weather…such a contrast to yesterday morning. The Lasers had just finished their race and it was mainly Merlin rockets with one 18..not sure if that is allowed in same race or of it was just in the area? The two boats with the blue sails are Enterprises which I don’t think are very common these days? Although I have done very little sailing I think the first boat I ever went out in was an Enterprise during a sailing course on the River Dart near Dartmouth. I have also sailed Toppers with various school groups in the U.K. and in France …this sailing club does not have toppers.
There were also people in skiffs and some on SUPs. I have heard that the sailing club is now encouraging SUPs which I am surprised about. However I think it may be to encourage younger members. Many of the people sailing today had grey hair! 

I also noticed some cherry blossom flowers on some small trees and some bees on the flowers. Let’s hope this sun continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.