GARGOYLES

Gargoyles are decorative, monstrous little creatures, perched along the roofs and battlements of buildings and castles.

Gargoyles have a practical purpose: they're spouts, enabling rainwater to drain off the roof and gush through their mouths, before plummeting to the ground (guttering is a relatively recent innovation!).

However, gargoyles had another intended purpose: to strike fear into the hearts of ill-educated  peasants, scaring them into the church or cathedral. Many gargoyles include elements of the grotesque: exaggerated, evil features or threatening poses, which would have leered down from on-high.


In a world marked with fear and superstition, these creepy creatures would undoubtedly have encouraged many to seek solace and safety inside of a church or cathedral- protected from the demons and ghouls which roamed outside.

I found these gargoyles at the back of St Mary The Virgin Church in Whickham. CLOSE UP OF GARGOYLE I was passing through the churchyard on my way to put some flowers on my Grandma's grave.  She is buried in a cemetery further down the hill near to Swalwell.  I didn't take fresh flowers as I thought that when they died they would look  a sorry sight and as I won't be going very often to replace them I thought artificial flowers would be better.  

I walked down to the cemetery - its only 1½ miles away - all downhill.  Decided not to walk the uphill  journey home so I got the bus.  The weather was bright but bitterly cold with a biting wind.

I decided to accept one of the quotes I got for a cat enclosure.  Now that I have the French doors I can't wait to fling them open and let the kitties out. So a chap came this evening to do his final measurements.  He is going to arrange for the wood, wire mesh, roofing etc to be delivered on 19th April and will start work on Saturday 20th and hopefully finish the next day.   I had to pick a weekend where I would be at home.... which meant a weekend where Newcastle United are playing away.

Neil and his ( girl ) friend have jetted off to Paris.  What is the number one thing you are not supposed to do when running a marathon?????  Don't run in brand new shoes - use old ones which have been " broken in ".  So what does Neil do..... buy new shoes this morning.  He's never one for following the rules.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.