I've been singing tenor for only 11 weeks and I've found the transition hard work. At yesterday's concert the seating meant I had one strong tenor behind me and one next to me, which helped me enormously. When we were allocated our places at the venue for today's concert and I found I was right at the front. I turned to the accurate but not-so-loud tenor right behind me and voiced my concerns: 'I have an alto to the right of me and a bass to the left of me'. He laughed: 
"Cannon to right of them,
Cannon to left of them,
Cannon in front of them"

Ah yes...: 
"Into the jaws of Death,
Into the mouth of hell."

But it was OK. Having less support meant I learned more. 

And I was thrilled to bits that loyal Firstborn showed up despite classical music not being his thing at all (inadequate parenting on my part) and despite having to schlep out to Abingdon. I saved him the best seat in the church - where he could watch the hands of the astonishing pianist, Maki Sekiya.

Extra: two young people to watch: conductor Dexter Drown and pianist Maki Sekiya.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.