Pixelation

By pixelation

Kiwi Buzzy Bee

The bee in this photo is symbolic for two reasons:
One it is atop a sign pointing to NZ parliament houses (which is across the road), one of which is called The Beehive.
The second reason is because of the buzzy bee being the quintessential toy for kiwi kids. The Buzzy Bee is pulled along by a string which comes out of its nose, the wings turn and click. I think nearly every kid who grew up in New Zealand had one of these as a baby, I know I did, mum still has it at home, I gave it a good thrashing and its coil-spring antennae have been stretched out and my brother and I had gnawed off half the paint, but when you pull it round on its blue wheels the wings still click around, kiwi toys- built to last.

There are lots of these signs around wellington, the one near the cable car has a little cable car carriage on the top of it and the one near the train station, obviously, a train.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.