Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Rare footage of turtle courtship rituals!

Not only was I lucky enough to see this extremely rare turtle courtship display, but I was privileged to be able to hear the dialog

Tutt: Hey, look at me!
Myrtle: Not now, can't you see I've only just climbed out of the ooze after being there all winter?
Tutt: No, really... look at ME!
Myrtle: You're trying my patience, you little sh**.
Tutt: But look ... NO HANDS!!!!! Wheeeeee!
Myrtle: That's it! I'm turning my back on you!
Tutt: Wait! I can do handstands, too... hang on...


And there you have it ... turtle courtship. Eat your heart out, Nat Geo!

Actually, this is the first time I've seen turtles this spring whereas last year, I saw and photographed the first turtles on March 19. Just another sign that spring is very late in coming this year. I enjoyed a long walk on the wooded trails and along the lakes today - it was in the 50's and gloriously sunny. The trees are still totally bare but there are a few tiny signs of green on the forest floor and in the boggy areas. Which makes me a very happy girl.

This morning presented another sure sign of spring ... when I went out to top off the feeders I found 3 smashed feeders, and two 6 ft shepard's crooked neatly bent over as if made of twigs ... yes, apparently we had our first visit by a cranky, hungry bear last night. He got one of my favorite bird feeders, too. Which means that I will now have to bring the suet feeders from the deck in at night (he didn't get those) and I'll only put one small seed feeder out during the day. I wish he'd at least have had the courtesy to come during the day when I could've blipped him! We'll do some repairs to the shepard's crooks tomorrow - the feeders are in the trash. Grrrr.

Happy Friday, and let the weekend commence!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.