Searching

I’ve been blipping for nearly twelve years (don’t look at my numbers; in the early years I often deleted posts, and I've never aspired to post every day). I have begun to find my ways of seeing predictable; I hunger for new ideas, new perspectives, new approaches. I’ve lost the niche I had carved for myself as a photographer of political protest, so I’m casting about for another direction. While this is my journal, and I love that aspect and the community aspect of Blipfoto, photography is also very important to me.

I love the work of Diana Blok, interviewed here (with many examples of her work). Back in the 80s she was doing nude family portraits that fascinated me. I used one of them in a Humanities class in the Bible belt of Texas and generated quite an uproar. Diana moved from nude family photographs to portraits of marginalized people of many kinds and now, after a long Covid lockdown in Brazil, she’s making photographs of leaves. There’s a photographer who found a new direction.

Celia Gerson, RobBris50, and MrFT are doing work I learn from, as are many Blip folk, and I enjoy thinking of urban street art as a medium with its own code of ethics. This doorway is an anthology of local tags, but I’m still searching for a new and enticing direction. I think I'll know it when it comes to me. Meanwhile I'm happy to say I have a photoshoot coming up on Saturday with one of my all-time favorite personalities. (Teaser.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.