Morning wander

I finally had my “winter vaccines” today…. Nicola has now told the Covid-19 vaccinators that they should concentrate only on Covid…but before they were insisting everyone over 55 should have flu as well. Anyway, I was originally scheduled for “winter vaccines”, although I was expecting only to be offered Covid. In fact, the vaccinator was easily persuaded to get someone to whip an under 65 dose of flu vaccine out of the fridge and shove it in the other arm. I feel justified in asking for it because I’m fairly “frontline” these days, as I will be teaching four hours a week in relatively small rooms (hopefully all fully masked…). She was sympathetic to the case I made, as I pointed out that I ended up with a chest infection when I had covid, and also that if she didn’t give me it, I would simply go to Boots and get it there…  I felt a bit out of place, demographic-wise, as the overwhelming majority of the other people getting vaccinated looked to me as if they were in their early 20s. Quite a few might well have been international students, I think. There were a lot of Chinese young women there.

Anyway since I was out and about first thing, I had my wander at that stage rather than later, and took a route that took me past Twelve Triangles (where I procured us some buns to have with our morning mugs of tea/coffee) and onto Leith Links just as the sun was coming over the buildings. I came back along Queen Charlotte Street and over Constitution street where there is a part of the road that has come back into use and has been resurfaced, but they haven’t actually put any tram rails on it…. I mean… I wonder when they will *ever* finish this project. 2030?

Back home, I continued at the interface, expecting to be struck down by painful arms or an overwhelming sense of tiredness (vaccine related, that is, not general lassitude…). But neither has happened, although I could happily go to bed now and read my book….

A couple of sunny extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.