The old railway bridge

I love the patterns on the water. THis is where Indie & I now go at the end of our walk across the heath as she will just about go in up to her belly, which saves me having to hose her down when we return to Mum's. She's a bit of a wimp when it comes to Springer spaniel x Border collies, aka Sprollies. She's not a fan of aquatic shannanigans.
I bumped into a very old work mate today. We both worked for Coca Cola approximately 50 years ago. One morning she came to work with a black eye and bruising to her face, her husband the culprit. It was'nt the first time, but it was the last. At lunchtime that day I drove her to her home and stood inside the door while she collected her belongings, bundling them into my car, then taking her to her sister in Torquay. I don't know where the courage came from, I was petrified really but had to get her out of the situation. She was, & still is a beautiful, gentle, person. She later married a lovely man & had a daughter. We lost contact, I bumped into her in a supermarket one year when I was home visiting family, but we lost touch until today. No social distancing I'm afraid. We gave each other a BIG hug, & exchanged phone numbers.
A fabulous day here today, gorgeous clear blue skies, after lunch I headed for the allotment. It felt so good to be back up there. I lifted half a dozen parsnips, cut some purple sprouting purple broccoli, then weeded a few of the charity pots. Bobby robin turned up, we had a chat, I fed him some tasty seed/fruit/mealworm mix, he rewarded me with a sweet song.

It's great to be alive!

Had a phone call from the hospital confirming an all clear. Happy days!!

Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting Wide Wednesday #black & white

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.