In Memoriam

So, I went on my walk. It was titled Blood & Granite -and was a tour of some of the nastiness that has gone on in Aberdeen over the years.

We met at Trinity Graveyard and I was really by how pretty and well maintained the graveyard was. We walked through the place at the start of the tour and we passed this tombstone. It really stood out against the delicate colours of the setting sun.

Reading it, it was placed by a Police Constable Charles Dunbar, and is in memory of his wife who died aged 57 in 1916. Charles joined his wife when he reached the age of 68 in 1922. At the bottom are listed their 2 daughters, who died within a year of each other in the early 1950's.


I hold it true, whate'er befall;
I feel it when I sorrow most;
'Tis better to have loved and lost
Than never to have loved at all.
Alfred, Lord Tennyson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.