Lukfook Shop-fitters Ceremony

Today shop-fitters held a traditional, Hong Kong, Buddhist ceremony to mark the commencement of work on what will be Lukfook's new Jewellery store in Mongkok.

One of the workers invited me in and described that they always performs this ceremony when they begin a new project in order to bring good fortune. In fact, he added it's also done for movie premiers and weddings. As soon as I spotted the roasted pig in the background it reminded me of Guangdong weddings I'd been invited to attend in the past there's always a roasted piglet on each table and this is seldom seen elsewhere in China. As I left they jokingly said, 'please come back on the 1st of May it's the opening ceremony'.

Also while in Mongkok finally Sony upgraded my dodgy yellow screen Xperia S for a new Xperia Ion which I promptly sold. Selling mobile is just like selling cars the brand matters. My 1 year old iPhone 4s slightly marked would have sold for 30% more than I sold the brand new SONY Ion. The money from the SONY Ion I used to invest in a new flashgun a Nikon SB700. Fantastic!

After crossing back over the border and while waiting at the taxi rank there appeared to be a crowd gathering and a number of police who were cordoning off the area. Couldn't see anything but I could hear a girl crying and screaming. As the taxi drove away I saw why the police had cordoned off the area. Sitting alone on the grass verge was the girl who'd been screaming. She had a knife in her hands and was about to slit her wrists.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.