A Thousand a Day

By Daver64

Peregrine Falcon

What a day! After more than a year of dithering, I finally decided after Christmas, to treat myself to a new toy: a Nikon prime 300mm telephoto, which I took out for the first time today.
As luck would have it, I was given a tip-off as to where I might find peregrines, in Newcastle, by a gentleman I just happened to pass on my walk! I used to see him regularly when I was a member of David Lloyds, but that was quite a few years ago. How fortunate that I should bump into him, today. As we chatted and caught up, he noticed my camera, and lens, and the conversation turned to birds, and the location of this pair of beauties.
Before today I had only ever seen two peregrines in the wild. Now I have doubled that tally! I plan to visit this site frequently through the spring and summer. It would be great to see eggs, chicks and fledglings ... but I get ahead of myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.