One way traffic

By Mobius

24 hour Party People

The right channel of my CD player stopped working a few days ago. Prompted by a recommendation from the Vinyl Sunday host, I was curious to try his hifi supplier/repairer and also see his vintage stuff. I arrived yesterday, at 2pm as arranged (24 hours notice required) in a attractive, but run down and seedier part of Nottingham.

Followed a series of signs from the front door, to the room where the owner sat amongst his stock. As arranged he'd hooked out a vintage Akai cassette player similar but a bit older than the one I selected for my parents hifi in the 1970s for a quick demo. It sounded fine and looked fab, but put didn't buy it, as I need to consider how much I want and will use it, given it wouldn't meet with approval from the boss.

C30,C60, C90 No Go

He set up my CD player, which played fine out of both channels. Before going I'd run a head cleaner through it which fixed it for a few seconds on playing again, and tried another CD. He asked me what amp I had, but hadn't heard of my fairly well known but modern amplifier. School boy error - I hadn't thought to check and clean the interconnect cables and sockets. Been too busy to try so far. 

He didn't want paying for looking at my CD player, but I insisted on paying a token amount. Old fashioned I know, but it's what's right. That matched the owner, old fashioned, polite and straight.

Rugby
Spent this afternoon and over 2 hours at the club tonight, sorting out RFU computer data compliance issues, following a sudden (to my knowledge) policy enforcement change. Only players system compliant could play for any of the junior teams this Sunday. Very productive but draining as parent after parent (& coaches) came to see me tonight; and emailing me this afternoon.

The RFU computer system is poorly specified, built, with overly complex processes and non-user friendly especially for parents, the "mandatory" users; = much un-necessary and unproductive time and stress for rugby union club volunteers and parents.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.