Drained

A new volunteer started. I set her shadowing the volunteer who has been with us for only five working days.

I worked with another volunteer on his fifth day who needs far, far more support than I'd ever imagined. I'm going to have to rethink his role.

I led a long team meeting, part of which involved explaining good practice without actually saying who it was who had broken confidentiality.

Four people wanted to pick my brains at length. After the first two had helped themselves to the choice bits, there was only sludge left over for the third. The fourth looked at me and decided to go home. 'We can do it tomorrow,' he said. 'I don't work tomorrow,' I said. 

But I've already agreed to try to get to an essential meeting he's set up between the first builder coming to look at my house at 8.30 and the second coming at 12.30, so we probably will do it tomorrow.

Oh, and the database wasn't working.

Back home, one of the two rings on the camping-gas stove I've cooked on for the last 20 months has packed up.

Black and white in colour 244

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.