Backpack TopherHack

By TopherHack

Tied in Knots

Twas the wedding of Tae Wang and Hae Jin today. Not a bad affair at all. We moved on from Yeosu and yesterday's magic toilet, this time heading inland to the city of Suncheon.

Unfortunately, I have a bit of a negative view of what I consider the insanity of Korean weddings (they are a mind-blowingly expensive, short, rushed and stressful affair, and feel like a busy two-hour, multi-location photo shoot, with a brief and chaotic exchange of vows shoe-horned into the middle). I could write a very long blip describing the ins and outs of getting married here but I'm way too tired for a full-length rant, it's been a long and exhausting day.
I also don't want to piss on the chips of two wonderful people who make a truly lovely couple. I have a real soft spot for Tae Wang, who is as genuinely kind and warm a human being as you're ever likely to meet.

The picture above is the gaudy Korean version of a traditional 'Western' wedding, but there is also a small section reflecting the traditional wedding of a bygone Korea, which you can grab a look at in my blipfolio, here.

The bride and groom are off to Italy tomorrow, and judging by how physically and mentally exhausted they were by two o'clock this afternoon, they've earned it.


Life has taught us that love does not consist of gazing at each other, but looking outward in the same direction.
- Antione Saint-Exupery






Disclaimer: You may look at these two carefully selected shots of the wedding and think I'm being a grumpy old soul. Many a foreigner living in Korea however, is likely to know exactly where I'm coming from.
__________________________________________________

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.