Cats and Ramblings

By RosieandRoo

Hooked.

This is my nephew Calvin. He is one of the funniest people I know, naturally funny, sarcastic, witty, and he’s only just turned 8.

We ended up getting news off his dad that we were needed for babysitting last night, so he came to stay, and he stayed with me all day today whilst rachel was working, he has also since decided he will be staying again tonight. We had a slow morning then went swimming this afternoon and it was great. The happiest I have been in a long time.

Work is rubbish at the minute, high pressure, low wages. Call after call after call with only a couple of us on the phones when they have plenty of staff to manage the workload, but the organisation and allocation is terrible, resulting in unhappy customers and depressed staff.

I applied for a job elsewhere and although I shouldn’t, I really got my hopes up - better money, the application process was going really well, and I got through the first 2 interviews. Unfortunately my formal interview was 15 minutes after I finished work on Wednesday evening, and because I was extremely tired from working my depressing job all week and quite unprepared, I didn’t perform as I’d hoped. I knew when the interview ended I hadn’t got it, and lone-behold I had that confirmed this afternoon.

I also found out on Tuesday that if my ankle hasn’t healed any further in a further 10 weeks for my next fracture clinic appointment, then they want to book me for a different type of scan to check the healing in 3D, and if it isn’t good enough they want to operate. Which will send me back to square one, as I could have had the operation in August when it happened, I don’t think I can cope with starting all over again to be perfectly honest, it has taken 5 months to get to this point where I can walk, and my work won’t pay me for sickness for longer than 6 weeks, so I can’t afford to be off either.

I feel pretty low at the minute, all things considered, but fishing for plastic turds in the bath with Calvin, and launching him across the swimming pool and watching his gleeful face felt like a real gift today, I do love that boy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.