A strange evening

I went to see a film with a friend, but when I arrived I found her car had broken down in the car park.  So, instead of seeing The Electrical Life of Louis Wain, we sat in the foyer drinking coffee, catching up our news, and waiting for the AA. I went home once she was sorted out and her car ok to drive. When I got home, this was the view from my front step. It was incredibly loud, lots of explosions and firework-like noises, and strangely, it had to be watched.  All the neighbours were out looking too. Fire engines arrived after about 10 minutes, and extinguished the flames pretty quickly. They remained in the street for quite some time, as there was a question of arson, and they had to investigate. It was interesting to watch 7 or 8 people bravely and expertly doing their job.  A fire which shouldn’t be happening is something  I’ve never actually seen before - it’s terrifying. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.