St Mary’s The Virgin Thurnham

A third glorious winter’s day with wall to wall sunshine. It has been a real treat to enjoy this weather after what had seemed to be endless grey days.

We walked up to the village of Detling for a coffee and a shared sausage roll from the Community Shop which we consumed sitting on a bench facing the sun - it was warm in the sun, no need for jackets. So pleased you liked the photo from Hythe Beach yesterday.

Our walk back passed through the churchyard of St Mary’s which looked spectacular in the sun and blue sky with dark shadows. This old church has featured before in my blips and must have seen many a sight in its long history.

This afternoon Susan went to see her mum. I’m not allowed to go into the home neither am I allowed to be in the car with her to take her out to enjoy the sunshine.

Whilst Susan was out I caught up with some tasks, dealt with the Council to get Doreen’s details changed and waited for 40 minutes for BT to answer my call to cancel Doreen’s phone. I then made a goulash for tomorrow.

We were both further annoyed by yet another party held during lockdown, this time on the eve of the Duke of Edinburgh’s funeral. It beggars believe that this man remains our prime minister. I rarely venture into politics in my journal but surely he’s destroying our integrity as a country and a people. He must go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.