Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Friday Night, Rose Street

Back in the old home town tonight. A rare occurrence in these strange times, but we had to check up on the flat, which we haven’t visited for a month. I also needed to go shopping for a present for my old friend Tricia.

That’s not so easy, as we’ve been exchanging birthday gifts for over 60 years … and we’ve not been able to meet for the last three of them … But after all this time it seems important to both of us to keep doing it.

I enjoyed wandering along George Street, buying silly little treats that she’ll appreciate.

As darkness fell, I passed the end of Rose Street and got my blip.

When Tricia and I were schoolgirls, she at the Convent and I at the Miss Jean Brodie school (all girls, of course), on Fridays after school we would meet up for coffee and flirtation with a gang of our friends and the chums of their friends from another single-sex school, of the opposite sex , obviously …
That’s how TM and I first met … in a cafe near here. Though not actually in this street, which back then, in the hours of darkness, was a no-go area for ‘respectable’ young women.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.