When What You Want Is Just Out of Reach

I was on my daily walk, heading up to the gameland, when I stopped to admire this scene. It was a little puddle of melt-water over ice and snow, with a single brassy colored leaf sitting at the edge.

I could see the reflections of trees on the puddle, and they all seemed to be reaching their branches out to try to capture a leaf that - alas - they could not seem to touch.

It had a sense of motion, and of heartache and desire, about it, that I caught my breath. And, perhaps, a longing for seasons past, or the pretty clothes we used to wear. So here is our photo for the day: when what you want is just out of reach.

I usually include a song link with my blips, and today, I have two. First is the best song I know of that speaks to heartache and desire: the Wailin' Jennys, with Boulder to Birmingham. Second is this one that seems perfect based on the title of my blip: Matthew Perryman Jones, with Out of Reach, which I have just discovered today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.