I'm just stepping out... I might be some time

A bright and sunny day, which - were it on a different side of the world - would have heralded warmth and optimism. As the mercury tipped the -29 though, the most sensible thing seemed to be to wrap up warm and read. 

This, naturally, meant that Mrs. Ottawacker went out skating with Ottawacker Jr. While reports of frostbite were being heard on the radio, they skated blissfully on, having by all accounts a great deal of fun. OJr. has discovered hockey and seems quite enthusiastic. his enthusiasm outstrips his skill by a long mark at this moment in time, so I might still be safe. But I'm also aware that out playing with your friends is the best way to learn any sport.

My niece's birthday. I spent a good 2 hours in the early afternoon trying to get through to her... complete failure. Still, you're only 19 once.

Shocked a little by the images of the Tonga volcano. Images like that always bring back "what if..." thoughts about our time in Thailand in 2004.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.