Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

Creative visible mending

I knitted this jumper twice, 20 years ago. The first time whilst heavily pregnant with my first child, I presented a handknitted, but rather large jumper to my husband. He said, sorry, it's just too big. In my grumpy pregnant irrationality, I pulled out all out and started again.
The weather in WA is rather hot to knit in the summer. So it took a while. 2 years later, this time pregnant with #2, I presented a smaller version of the jumper. This time, he didn't like the collar. Soooo I reknitted the neck and claimed it for myself! I love the floppiness, its pure wool softness and its familiarity.

So this jumper is 18 or 20 years old, depending on when you start counting. The cuffs had worn out into holes and moths had caused a delicate thin patch on the front. Its future was bleak.
I had heard of visible mending and thought this jumper was the perfect candidate to trial the idea on.

So as part of my first day of enforced toe fracture rest, I darned the large patch on the front and added a wee dot of Swiss darning to an additional thin patch. The cuffs were done at the start of the holidays.

It certainly brightens up this old friend, and should extend its life considerably.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.