Ordered

Today I completed the arduous, but not unpleasant, job of finding room on the shelves for all the novels that have been scattered, for one reason or another, around the house. As I have these in strict alphabetical order, it means that, as one book is put in the right place, all the others have to move and, if that means the shelf is full, then books from the far end have to move onto the next shelf. As I was adding many books, you might appreciate the enormity of the task. Perhaps I should have been outside in the sunshine, but it was nice to have good daylight in which to do this task.

Anyway it’s done and I am happy. 

My library of novels is very important to me, as it is a collection that spans almost my entire life, well from the age of 11 or 12 when I started collecting books anyway. I used to buy from market stalls and jumble sales and was given books no one wanted. Then there are all the paperbacks that I was buying for college and after. I might have had a few hardback books if they were remainders or presents, but it was mainly paperbacks and it is interesting seeing what I was reading in the past. In recent years I have indulged in newly-published hardbacks - a real joy and something I could not have dreamt of years ago. Sorting the books out now brings back memories of buying them, reading them, re-reading them and reminds me of books I had forgotten about and and plan to read again.

I know that eventually I may have to part with many of them, but that’s not a problem, as I know exactly which ones I would keep. However, whilst we still have room, I will keep and cherish the whole collection. At least friends and family know where to come when they need a specific book! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.