Kidnapped

Today's the day ....................... for a classic read

This is the book I'm reading at the moment.

A few months ago, I was having a conversation with a friend who is a lover of books and an avid reader.  He mentioned Robert Louis Stevenson and asked me if I had read any of the books written by him?  When I embarrassingly had to admit that I didn't think I had, he promised to lend me 'Kidnapped'.  This duly happened - and I'm now about half way through.

It's quite right that I should at least give such a well-known writer as RLS a try - but what I didn't expect was that I would enjoy 'Kidnapped' so much.  Considering it was written in 1886, it's still very exciting and moves along at quite a pace.  The characters in it are well-observed and interesting and I'm finding I can't put it down.  Who would have thought?!

And what's more, I have managed to get hold of a DVD of a 13-part television adaptation that was shown in the 1980s, featuring actors such as David McCallum, Bill Simpson, Patrick Magee and Frank Winsor.  So when I've finished the book, I can relive the action on the small screen .....................!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.