Cumbria Here I Come

By marpaul

On a day like today....

..... I could have stayed home and done the housework, or spent the day in the garden or go for a walk in the Lakes. Ha ha there was no way I was going to miss out on a walk as our sunny days are coming to an end! I decided to start the walk from the foot of Cat Bells and do a circular walk via Little Town which I've done a few times before. I was a bit later than planned and as I was getting closer to the small car park I kept saying to myself I'll get the last space, I'll get the last space .... hey guess what, I did get the last parking space, literally!!

You can't beat the fells on a day like today. They looked magnificent, the sky was a vivid blue and the sun was shining brightly. Of course this all meant that there were lots of people about but most of them were going up Cat Bells. We had a great walk and half way round we stopped for a breather as Bonnie was a bit hot. It was so lovely to sit and relax and take in all the scenery and we had the fell side all to ourselves, that is until another couple who must have thought we looked lonely, decided to sit a mere few yards from us and have a coffee from their flask. One of the things I like about the Lakes is that you don't need to go high to get great views! More photos on flikr if anybody is interested.

On the way home we stopped off at Bassenthwaite for a sandwich and drink and of course the obligatory paddle for Bonnie afterwards. So all in all a lovely day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.