Greenfinch Drama - it was very frosty this a.m.

Please look at the extras and read clockwise from top left -  (1) seen early this a.m. the greedy pigeon was finally managing to reach the sunflower feeder.  But then I spied the greenfinch behind him.  I looked again and he didn't move so I went out and disturbed the pigeon but not the greenfinch.  (2) Returned with camera and took close up of greenfinch with his head buried in his back feathers. Left in peace.  Half an hour later I looked out of window and saw the greenfinch on the lawn, head still buried.  (3) Collected him and warmed him in hand for half an hour with occasional slight response.  Put it on a handkerchief (main picture) and layed it beside large hot pan of blackberry and apple.  After half an hour he woke and flew to the window.  I had ground up sunflower seeds with water so I put his beak into a teaspoon of the liquid which he drained.  Then he flew away happily.  (4) Later, the bottom left picture, he was back at the feeder again thank goodness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.