tempus fugit

By ceridwen

I didn't catch the bus

Such a fine afternoon called for a good dog walk so I took a circular route from the centre of town around our twin communities. This view is across Goodwick Moor towards the small town of Goodwick that sprawls across the western side of the valley.

Goodwick Moor is a Site of Special Scientific Interest and you used to be able to get around it on a board walk (it's a swamp) but some idiot thoughtless person decided to do it on horseback and the board walk was ruined by the hooves.

I don't know why the bus.  Its livery says South Kent which is about as far across the breadth of Wales and England as it's possible to get. I imagine it may be the first double decker to be seen in Twin Towns (but someone will probably prove me wrong.)

We walked around the back of the Moor and came out at the Parrog seafront. There's a very pleasant sand and shingle beach, the existence of which is kept private. There are constant lamentations on social media about the fact that holiday makers don't frequent our town. When I suggested that a sign in the centre pointing To the Beach/Ar y Traeth might help, I was told "It's our secret" - a joke but in actual fact a little bit too close to the truth.

Then along the Marine Walk, where the dog disappeared  for a while and came back licking her lips (I dread to think...)  and on around to the old harbour where a small yellow fishing boat was heading for the quay beyond the Old Fort with bags of shell fish on board. Scallops or whelks? I hope they were sustainably gathered.

Home along the green lane with Raki panting to be let off the lead. No way - I think she was trailing a squirrel, such was her fervour.

Extras: the beach with our shadows, and  the old harbour with the Fishguard Fort and Pen Dinas beyond.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.