Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Winding down

The Director in Charge of Talking Very Loudly came in today. He's a nice guy, probably not impressed by our change in ownership, but at least he has managed to retain his office if not his previous role. He appears to fight our corner, so it would be nice if he'd give our Lord & Bastard a stiff talking to, but he's probably unaware of how badly that character mismanages us. At least FYC was back at work today, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed.
While FYC was having his “return to work” consultation with lovely boss, DiCoTVL came over to ask me what had attracted me to Henley. 
Closer to my family, an adult salary and a reasonable amount of job security were my top three. 
Nodding sagely followed.
He then told me he didn't think the landfill portfolio would remain beyond March, so when my colleagues returned from their pow-wow I shared that with them. They REALLY need to be picking up their bags and heading for the closest exit. They really, really do.
A little while after that I was requested to join the DiCoTVL in the store room. An odd request I thought. I did as I was bid and was handed a bottle of store-room Prosecco and advised to hide it inside my hoodie on my way back to my desk. Meanwhile my colleagues were also called to collect identical prizes, and after that, we were all handed surplus corporate gifts; branded drinking water flasks and what have you.
None of us was entirely sure if this was reward for being the only team turning up to work every single day since 15th June 2020, or if it was emptying the store cupboard in advance of the fire-sale. A bit of both I reckon.
After work I went to Sainsbury's to make sure I have just enough in the fridge to last until mid-day on Thursday, to use up my remaining nectar points, and to say goodbye to Checkout Sue, who has been so incredibly supportive since the middle of last June.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.