West Riding marker

When I went for a walk on Saturday with friend R, we spotted this marker stone. We wondered what it was and I said I knew someone who could tell me. I took this shot on the way to have a ‘coffee’ this morning. Neighbour J was very pleased to be asked about this as he had painted them (there is one on each side of the river), and told me all about them.
Traditionally these markers indicate where you are. There is one on each side of the river and In this case they both say WR. He said he had painted them which is why it looks so smart. They indicate that, in this case, we are in the West Riding. Riding comes from the Danish word meaning one third, hence the three ridings of Yorkshire (West, East, and North). I have always wondered why there is no South Riding... well now I know!
I have also included a shot of the cricket pitch covered in frost. I thought it looked pretty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.