Dutch tales

By ThisIsGerda

My next read

I seem to be in a Scandinavian flow. The last two books were set in Iceland, the one before in Sweden. This one in Norway. The sequel to a book I read near the end of last year. Though I had some problems getting into the story of the first book I really liked it. I do hope this one is as good.

Update after reading the book:
In English the book is translated as "White Shadow", sequel to "The Unseen", by the Norwegian author Roy Jacobsen. Another good read. The first book is very much detailing about the forces of nature, living in isolation on an island, hard life. Very atmospheric. The second book tells the story of one year in the life of Ingrid, now owner of the island after her parents died. It is more about her, less about the weather and island living. She lives through the last year of the second world War and experiences trauma and hardship. She struggles to get a grip back on her life and living on the island. Beautifully written.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.