Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Well Hello There!

This morning I was casually walking past the door I take most all of my bird shots through, and I glanced out - as you do - and did a major double take when this met my astonished eyes! I backed slowing back to where my camera is (right next to the door) and then carefully snuck into position. And got a number of decent shots! She (I say she because it looked pretty big to me) just posed there for several minutes. Long enough even for me to go get The Husband so he could see her too. She's a full adult Cooper's Hawk (juveniles have yellow eyes) and presumably came in to try to catch a songbird but evidently missed this time. We do see the remnants of mourning doves occasionally, so I guess this is her patch. But anyway - very cool. Blip sorted before 8:00 this morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.