chrisrandall58

By chrisrandall58

Firing up the log burner

Went into the office today for a meeting which couldn’t be dealt with online. It was good to see colleagues in person but the experience overall made me wonder whether office work will ever be the same again. Before Covid my routine was a 40 minute drive each way interspersed with a long day working in an air conditioned office with 50 to 60 other people sitting in front of screens or in meetings. Now, the drive on crowded roads seems a waste of time and the offices seem unwelcoming and above all cold (fresh air being part of the strategy to combat the spread of infection) so I couldn’t wait to get out and return home. However I haven’t been able to warm up since, hence the need for the fire.I suspect that the new norm of hybrid working will be a more pleasant experience as the months roll by but for now working from home is definitely the way I want things to be

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.