Life through the lens...

By ValC

Stanley Ferry Aqueduct

Probably the most celebrated feature of navigation and engineering history at Stanley Ferry, the original cast iron aqueduct was the first suspension aqueduct of its kind in the world.
Now a protected structure,it was designed by George Leather, constructed between 1836 - 1839, and opened in 1839, at a cost of £40,000 - £50,000.
The aqueduct is no longer in use andwas replaced in 1981. Grade 1 listed.
Built to take the Aire & Calder Navigation ( ship canal) over the river Calder.

After having dropped Mr C off at the hospital, I drove down to have another walk along the canal.
Dull when we set off from home at 8.30am, but as you can see the sky cleared and by 9.30am it was glorious.

Had a chat with two fishermen who had just arrived fir a days fishing.
They informed me that there were a lot of roach and also pike in the canal.
Unfortunately they didn’t catch any while I was watching.
I had just set off along the tow path when my phone rang, and it was Mr C to say he was ready to be picked up.
This time he didn’t have any tests beforehand, and so the whole procedure only took about half an hour.
My walk was cut short, but pleased for Mr C.

( The top photo shows the new and old aqueduct, and the bottom right the old structure. Bottom left a couple of inquisitive young swans.)

Decided to call at The Beulah pub for brunch.
Usual bacon sandwich for Mr C but I decided to have a mushroom and ham omelette, which was delicious.

Back home and cleaned the car. I was so dirty I could hardly see out of the windows.
That’s the trouble with motorway driving in this weather.

Mr C really appreciates all your concern, and I can report all went well. His eye is just feeling a bit tender, and he is now having a nod. Feeling a bit tired.

Cottage pie for tea, with , guess what, sprouts!
Eve’s pudding and custard for afters.
Should perk him up a bit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.