Ristosan's Journal

By ristosan

Music From Big Pink

by the Band

Today I accompanied my wife and her sister to my hometown as they were visiting their favourite hairdresser. While their hairs were being handled I walked around the familiar streets. I also passed this pink house, which had been the home of my father's father from around 1950 to 1986 when he passed away. I have some very pleasant childhood memories from the house. I also discussed them with the new (since 1990) owner of the house who happened to arrive as I was walking by the house.

The pink colour is quite appropriate although in my grandfather's time the house was grey. My grandfather was a communist, a former member of the parliament and also a former concentration camp prisoner during the war. He never lost his trust in communism and in a way I am glad that he did not live to see the downfall of Soviet Union. He was also a pacifist and I had a lot of respect for his conviction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.