Hyperion

By Hyperion

A Quiet Day

I had promised myself a quieter day today, as I felt I needed to slow down a bit. We decided that lunch out and a trip to Stover Countryside park might be nice. My blip photo shows the lake at Stover today. There were a good variety of birds, including coots, tufted ducks, pochard and a shoveler. After lunch just up the road at the House of Marbles, we went on to The Art's Centre at Bovey Tracey. I bought some interesting pottery there before Christmas but failed to collect any details of where it was made. I am glad I have now solved this mystery. I thought when I bought it that it might form part of a still-life, but I haven't felt inspired to do that yet. I did though find inspiration in today's visit to the small pottery museum at the House of Marbles. The museum houses some fine pieces of Wemyss Ware. Wemyss Ware has it's origins in Fife in Scotland in the early 19th century but it was not until the 1880's that the pottery began to be branded as Wemyss Ware. The original Fife Pottery closed in 1930 during the Great Depression, and the rights to Wemyss Ware were bought by the Bovey Pottery in Devon. It was used by the Bovey Pottery until 1957. Since 1985 the Wemyss Ware name has been used by Griselda Hill Pottery in Ceres, Fife.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.